Where to start, and where to begin?

May 31, 2010

I’ve been ruminating over this little experiment of mine for a while. Last year I got a copy of Lynda Barry’s One! Hundred! Demons! as a gift and I was enthralled by the project. Barry writes an “autobiographifictional” account of her life as part of a zen experiment in exorcising her demons. It’s an idea that’s been stuck in my craw for the last year, but with the fact that free time and I are at best, the sort of friends that meet very occasionally for a few minutes of awkward small talk concluded by a hastily remembered prior engagement, I’ve found that it’s easier said than done. This is what graduate school is like, where it is possible to have one’s entire day planned TO THE HOUR.

(Seriously, the last two weeks of the semester I had to pencil: “2:30: eat, motherfucker” into my schedule)

However, now that it’s summer I’m finding myself with the actual time to sit down and write. And while Barry used art and comics to create One! Hundred! Demons! I’m going to just use words. Because, really, I’m in art school. This is to GET AWAY from having to use the right side of my brain for a while. This was actually supposed to be my new year’s resolution but time sorta got away from me for a while. But it’s still 2010! I AM ON TRACK.

The gist of this whole blog is: one week, one demon. I pick a category (anger, anxiety, adolescence) and tell a story about it from my life. Supposedly this will help exorcise said demon, and if it doesn’t, well, at least I’ll try to be entertaining. Eventually there will be 101 stories, and 101 demons exorcised.

I hope.

Leave a Reply

